By Election Results: Rude Shock To BJP

Even before the ruling BJP is yet to come to terms with the major electoral shock it suffered from Rajasthan by-poll results, the latest by election results – announced today (Feb 28, 2018) night – have rubbed salt on BJP’s wound.

While Congress swept Rajasthan by polls early this month where it won two Lok Sabha seats and one assembly seat out of the three by elections, Congress has now swept Madhya Pradesh by elections.

Madhya Pradesh

In a rude setback to the ruling and three-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the Congress has emerged victorious in Mungaoli and Kolaras assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh.

According to the Election Commission, Congress candidate Brajendra Singh Yadav got 70,808 votes while the BJP candidate, Baisahab Yadav, secured 68,684 votes.

Whereas in Kolaras assembly constituency, Congress won by 8083 votes majority.  Congress candidate Mahendra Singh Yadav got smooth victory against his rival BJP candidate Devendra Jain.

Kolaras and Mungaoli, are in the Guna Lok Sabha constituency, represented by Jyotiraditya Scindia of Congress. Congress banked on Scindia’s charisma and also sympathy factor. The bypolls were necessitated due to the death of Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli in Ashoknagar district) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras in Shivpuri district).


The situation is much worse for BJP in Odisha. BJD’s Rita Sahu won Bijepur by poll in Odisha by a huge margin of 41933 votes against BJP. It is a landslide victory for the BJD in Bijepur constituency.

BJD candidate Rita Sahu secured around 1,02, 871 votes against  BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi who got 60,938 votes in the crucial by poll.

BJD got nearly 57 per cent of vote share while the total voter turnout recorded in Bijepur by election was  81 per cent.


The fresh results are expected to have a telling effect on BJP’s prospects in upcoming Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka. Looks like, clearly, Modi and Amit Shah-led BJP is losing its sheen quickly.