MLAs & MPs all set to vote for Presedent Elections

Legislature Secretary and Returning Officer of Presidential Election Raja Sadaram has said that arrangements have been completed for polling in the committee hall number 1. He said that MLAs could cast their votes from 10 am to 5 pm. Apart from the State MLAs, four MPs have also obtained permission to vote in Hyderabad. They are the Congress Rajya Sabha Member N. Janardhan Reddy, TDP MP Narayana Rao and YSR Congress MPs Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy and Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy. The Congress party’s 155 MLAs, 31 Lok Sabha and 13 Rajya Sabha members will vote for UPA nominee Pranab Mukherjee. However, two MLAs of Congress and one MLA from TDP, who have recently resigned to their parties, are likely to vote as per their conscience. MIM, CPM and Lok Satta numbering nine have declared support to UPAs candidate Pranab Mukherjee.

The YSR Congress with 17 MLAs and two Lok Sabha members also declared support to Pranab Mukherjee. BJP with three MLAs will vote for the NDA candidate P.A. Sangma. The main opposition TDP, which has six Lok Sabha and five Rajya Sabha members apart from 86 MLAs, have decided to abstain from the polling. TRS with two Lok Sabha members and 17 MLAs is also likely to abstain. The CPI has already decided to abstain from the election at the national level. Different political parties are making arrangements to ensure polling by three MLAs, who are indisposed.