Yeddyurappa Swears-In as CM, SC Refuses To Stop

The Supreme Court has refused to stay the swearing-in of BJP leader B S Yeddyurappa in Karnataka. A bench of Justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan was specially convened at odd hours to hear the petition which challenges the Governor Vajubhai Vala’s communication to Yeddyurappa to be sworn in as CM.

Challenging Governor Vajubhai Vala’s decision to invite BS Yeddyurappa to sworn-in as the next Chief Minister and allowing him to prove majority within 15 days, Congress senior leader and lawyer Abhishek Singhvi moved the Supreme Court on last night. A petition is filed by the Congress and JD(S) leaders against the Karnataka Governor’s decision late on Wednesday (May 16) and sought the hearing late in the night. At 1.15 AM, Supreme Court has decided to hear the Congress petition in the wee hours. At 2.15 AM, Supreme Court bench comprising justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde and Ashok Bhushan, have commenced hearing on the matter. Attorney General KK Venugopal, ASG Maninder Singh in court for hearing.

Abhishek Singhvi, representing Congress and JD(S), told the justices that BJP has 104 MLAs and Governor invited BS Yeddyurappa to form govt in “unconstitutional manner”. He said JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy with Congress has 116 MLAs. Senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi, representing BJP and BS Yeddyurappa, retored saying no injunction can be issued to Governor.

Singhvi has raised the issue of Goa and how Congress was deprived to form the government in Goa despite being single largest party. He reminded that then SC had upheld government formation by BJP and asked to form the same norm now.

Responding on the case, the Supreme Court bench noted that it is necessary to peruse the letters dated May 15 and May 16 submitted by Yeddyurappa to Governor for claiming stake for government formation. The bench asked Attorney General KK Venugopal, appearing for the Centre and Yeddyurappa to produce these letters on next hearing tomorrow at 10.30 am. The court made it clear that its order allowing swearing-in and government formation by the BJP in Karnataka is subject to the outcome of the case before it.

 It also issued notices to the Karnataka government and Yeddyurappa as it was clarified by senior advocate Mukul Rohatgi that he was appearing for three BJP MLAs — Govind M Karjol, C M Udasi and Basavaraj Bommai.

BSY Swears-In as 23rd CM of Karnataka

Meanwhile, BS Yedyurappa has sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on Thursday morning. He has sworn-in as the new CM as the successor to the Congress CM Siddaramaiah. JD(S) and Congress leaders have staged protests across the state. Considering protests, forces have been deployed to ensure the swearing-in ceremony smoothly.

At the moment, all eyes are on what will be the Supreme Court’s verdict after perusal of the letters of MLAs of both teams – BJP and JD(S)-Congress.